Waiting game…

All is quiet as we wait for a date to be set for a hearing by a citizen’s board to “appeal” code enforcement’s decisions. I find this absurd, as we have yet to be officially cited with a specific violation. I see it as a PR stunt by the city in an attempt to quiet our stance, and to keep us out of a courtroom. I wish I could have just gotten my point across months ago.

8 Responses to Waiting game…

  1. Mari says:

    I support you! You should be able to grow a garden anywhere you please. It’s YOUR land!!

  2. appleofmypie says:

    I am so sorry you are going through this. I shared your story on my facebook, wrote about it on my blog here: http://halfdozenkids.blogspot.com/2012/06/home-gardens-under-attack-support.html?spref=fb
    and shared it with the Freedom Center of Missouri. Their Facebook link is here https://www.facebook.com/FreedomCenterofMissouri?ref=ts They would like to get in touch with you.

    Keep your chin up!
    Your Friend,
    Shauna

  3. Lori Doty says:

    Your garden looks lovely and is an inspiration to others, such as myself. I hope the city council realizes the huge mistake they have made and that more people in your area grow gardens like this.

  4. Riley Larock says:

    I’m really sorry about what happened to your garden. I find it strange that you can go and buy vegetables and fruits at a Shop & Save, but you can’t grow your own personally organic fruits and vegetables. It’s completely wrong, it’s time for the board to quit speculating on issues for which they do not concern. Everyone has their right to grow their own food, and deposit it in their own inventory.

  5. Wow i thought our council in Berri South Australia was a pain in the arse. You have our full support here as well. Your garden is beautiful continue your fight stand up and be counted. Just so you know i myself have an edible garden out the front. We have a fig tree, a locut tree and capsicums not one complaint from my council and i am looking at hedging Brazilian Cherry bushes as a fence. Sorry have to say it…… us Aussies have a saying “Only In America” stories like this is why we say it lol, Chin up, fight hard you have the right to feed your family the way you desire to do so.:)

  6. leeloo says:

    WE ARE WATCHING MISSOURI!!!
    Leave these people ALONE. They have PROPERTY RIGHTS. The right to grow a vegetable garden on their PRIVATE PROPERTY.

  7. They will try to wait you out and wear you down. It costs them nothing to harass you. It’s the oldest trick in the book. Then they’ll manufacture a new (unvoted-for) ‘ordinance’ or ‘statute’ or some other color of law BS to make you ex post facto in violation of whatever it is they’ve conjured up. It’s how they roll.

  8. I seriously am grateful for all of the grueling labor you have done
    keeping this website here. I really hope this stays around for a very long
    while.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

